I have a new therapist!

Image

Though it might not seem like a monumental thing to anyone else, it’s HUGE to me. I just spent an hour on the phone with the person who will be my new therapist and it was so helpful.

Interesting point she made: Well, usually when trauma is associated with certain relationships, a treatment plan would usually include not having any contact with that person – at least until a good therapeutic foundation is in place…

Um YEAH. I know that! And now I have it validated. It doesn’t make me feel any better but at least my gut and my research align.

The therapist also said that she thinks it’s important that I talk with my doc about meds because of the depth of my depression and anxiety. She explained that it was a temporary change that supports long term changes and that I shouldn’t look at it as being on meds for the rest of my life. [This is exactly the balanced perspective that I believe works for me.] My body is on overload and I recognize and accept that it may need some assistance chemically. I don’t like it, but I accept it.

Hope coupled with action to develop a plan. With support.

Novel eh?

3 thoughts on “I have a new therapist!

  1. Good for you for taking those steps to take care of yourself. And the image at the top is quite creepy. Pretty sure I’ll have nightmares tonight. LOL

I'd love to hear your thoughts - please join the discussion!

