Global 5-SLOAN Multidimensional Typing System

Image

Among other things, I teach org behavior and HRM. I am a skeptic when it comes to psychometrics unless those instruments have been shown to be reliable and valid and have withstood the test of time and rigorous peer review in the scholarly community.

In redesigning course materials I revisited various personality tests but (for giggles) took the Global 5-SLOAN Multidimensional Typing System.

Extroversion (42%) moderately low which suggests you are reclusive, quiet, unassertive, and private.
Accommodation (62%) moderately high which suggests you are, at times, overly kind natured, trusting, and helpful at the expense of your own individual development (martyr complex).
Orderliness (50%) medium which suggests you are moderately organized, structured, and self controlled while still remaining flexible, varied, and fun.
Emotional Stability (36%) moderately low which suggests you are worrying, insecure, emotional, and anxious.
Inquisitiveness (82%) high which suggests you are very intellectual, curious, imaginative but possibly not very practical.

Take Free Big Five Personality Test
Personality Test by SimilarMinds.com

I’d say that’s pretty accurate at the moment, keeping in mind the assessment results may shift over time. Said shift is dependent upon too many variables to list here.

Here is the description with keywords (i.e., “zones”). The red text descriptors are the ones I feel do not apply to me and I should note that there is a distinct dichotomy as it relates to professional contexts vs. interpersonal relationships with those closes to me. I’m an enigma that way. 🙂

RLUAI

moody, not good at sports, low energy level, unable to speak up for self, avoidant, depressed, withdrawn, attracted to things associated with sadness, easily frightened, feels defective, lonely, no self confidence (only in certain relationships/situations), easily discouraged, avoids crowds, backs down when threatened, easily intimidated, socially unskilled, loner, unproductive, late with work, prone to health problems, focuses on fantasies more than reality, self loathing, wounded at the core, easily hurt, often sad, becomes overwhelmed by events, fearful, rarely prepared, fears doing the wrong thing, often aware how the color and lighting of a room affects their mood, feels untalented, quiet around strangers, prone to addiction, doubting, anxious, easily confused, frequently overwhelmed by unpleasant feelings, weak sense of purpose, relates to broken and discarded things, unsure where life is going, continually losing things, fears drawing attention to self, avoids unnecessary interaction, often bored, second guesses self, embarrassed by praise, worrying, resigned, prone to jealousy
*the descriptions listed here are made up of personality items. people who scored high on this type scored higher on the above items compared to the average. (more info)

back to personality types
favored careers:

philosophy professor, novelist, poet, philosopher, bookseller, author, bookstore owner, freelance artist, professor of english, freelance writer, museum curator, playwright, anthropologist, art historian, artist, research scientist, archeologist, egyptologist, researcher, art curator, songwriter, comic book artist, screenwriter, composer, book editor, musician, scholar, historian, theologian, research psychologist, school psychologist, library assistant, part of non profit sector, paleontologist, cartoonist, astronomer, painter, english teacher, theatre technician, illustrator, environmentalist, music therapist, publisher, psychotherapist, history professor, ecologist, psychoanalyst, curator, clinical psychologist, psychologist, video game designer, wildlife biologist, scientist, art teacher, photo journalist, activist, drummer, librarian, cinematographer, music journalist, graphic artist, travel writer, filmmaker, music educator, child psychologist, marine biologist, editor, art director, zoologist, art education, research assistant, botanist, professional college student, forensic anthropologist
8 thoughts on “Global 5-SLOAN Multidimensional Typing System

  1. hah… i got the same results… that must be why i feel like you make sense 😛
    i think its true that things can shift, because i wasnt always like this! also think its true that we can tend to be different people in different situations… but thats everyone…

    • Hee hee! I don’t know whether to say “welcome to the Club” or “yikes! Get help!” 😀

      I’ve explored a number of psychometric instruments in my research and practice and things like the Myers-Briggs are based upon self-report measures which are only as accurate as one’s perceptions of themselves at that time. I take great issue with any of these instruments as high-stakes decision making tools, as do many researchers. Nonetheless, the insights are useful in many ways as long as the context is clear.

      In my case, I’ve become more introverted or introspective as I’ve gotten older due to increased intellectual activities as well as my decreased desire to pretend to be someone I don’t feel like being. People who do not correctly understand introversion vs. extroversion have a hard time believing I’m introverted at all. What they don’t understand is that yeah, I can appear to be seamlessly extroverted but after a point, it’s quite draining. I just reach that point earlier these days and I’m cool with that. 🙂

  2. i think theyre good as a guide, youre right, theyre based on how we see ourselves at any given time… but if were looking to change something we might not know what that is, so its nice to have some direction… for quite a long time i thought, oh, ok this is me, thats just the way things are… but it doesnt have to be. know what you mean about no desire to pretend. i struggle with that a lot. sometimes to the point where i just dont want to be around anyone because of what i think they want me to be… annoys me heh.

    • “sometimes to the point where i just dont want to be around anyone because of what i think they want me to be…”

      YES. Exactly. I think this explains the shift in my personality over the past 10 years. Let’s face it, if actors and actresses lived every day of their lives in character, over time they’d be batshit crazy. So we’re not actors or actresses, yet we’ve expected these magnificent transformational identity switches to be OK – conceivably in perpetuum. What tha?? Sounds like a recipe for failure, right? [duh]

  3. its all about expectations and who you can trust imo. i have people in my life who i can trust to call me on my shit if i get out of line and i know they have my best interests in mind, because for the most part theyre family, uncles aunties cousins etc and only a few close friends… theyve known me all my life, who and where i come from etc etc… so i trust them. but other people ehhh… i dont know where theyre coming from all the time and it feels like they want you to be like them… or want you to get them, without knowing where it all comes from… they want to put their perspective on you but its not your perspective so it gets confusing… confused? lol i am!

    • Unfortunately, I have found that phenomenon with family to the point of my no longer associating with most of them. Large, ethnic families are – ugh – I don’t know what! My closest friends are generally women who aren’t histrionic and stupid. 😀 I get along with men better than women for the lack of histrionics but even sometimes men can be just as bad as the girlz. In general, I am a no drama zone. Trust: that’s another matter. Very, very few people do I trust. Lately, and apparently, I can’t seem to trust most people so I’m figuring that I own some of that karmic thingy. It would be very easy for me to be reclusive almost entirely.

  4. hehe yes i know the large ethnic family dramas 😀 mine are… hmm… judgemental and bossy? but theyre also very real. they call a thing a thing. they dont hold back and say exactly what they think. yeah sure its tactless and somewhat cruel at times… and i dont like it when they ‘over share’… but its real and its honest. i like that. its important to me. though i know its not always appreciated, especially if you havent grown up with that. ive never been accused of being insensitive or up myself but im only now beginning to learn there is such a thing as being too honest.

    • Yep. yep, yep, yep. I grew up with it all and married it just in case I hadn’t had enough of the Italian male-dominated, paternalistic “my way or the highway” mentality. Yet, I’d hardly say that the women on my side of the family were shy and retiring. Sure, they were dysfunctional as hell, but when my 4’8″ grandmother went after my 6’2″ grandfather with a cast iron skillet, I couldn’t help but admire her gutsy attitude. He was abusive and drunk and she, even as small as she was, wasn’t going to take it.

      As you say though, we grow up and realize many of these things that were our normal, are – in fact – dysfunctional. Good grief what a mind f*&% that is! My mistake has always been assuming that merely because I treat others with boundaries and respect that they will, in turn, treat me the same. Nope. Thus, my absence. Accepting that damage as normal is a big part of what I’m trying to shed, and a big part of why I got to this point in the first place. Live and learn I guess!

I'd love to hear your thoughts - please join the discussion!

