Creative Destruction: A different twist on Schumpeter’s theory

Image

Build the life you want, not a life you cannot handle.

I will be forever grateful for the wonderful conversations I have with my friend and colleague. I have talked with her over the past few days a few times and the insights that flow between us demonstrate synergy, mutual respect, and brutal honesty. My friend told me that she is at a point in her life where she will no longer accept less than she wants or deserves. She said that the people in her life are on their way to accepting this but it’s been rough.

I was reminded of Schumpeter’s theory of creative destruction. “Schumpeter argued that capitalism exists in the state of ferment he dubbed “creative destruction,” with spurts of innovation destroying established enterprises and yielding new ones (Rose, 2002, para. 2). The concept of creative destruction transcends economics and technology management to provide insights as to what the Law of Attraction can help us create, if we allow it. Allowing is not my strong suit but I’ve become better at it over the past few years. Let’s face it, I’ve had to control many things to accomplish what I’ve accomplished. Rightly so. However, discerning that which should be controlled from that which should not be controlled is obviously a challenge.

My intention today is to work toward manifesting the creative destruction in my life that is clearly necessary such that I can live MY life as opposed to a concept of my life that has been nurtured and fed for too many years. Truthfully, I don’t even flipping know what that concept is, but I’m going to find out.

The entre of the bratty child over the past few days has provided insights that I have fortunately listened to. I am going to visualize my life as I’d like it to be rather than what I have felt it should be (which is based upon external influences as opposed to internal influences). A healthy mixture of both is necessary and though I’m far from what might be considered “healthy” in an emotional sense, I know I can do this – whatever this is.

Time to make some lists. Crazy, wild, out there lists. Let’s get back to ME shall we?

Photo from http://www.getunstuckblog.com/2011/06/the-roller-coaster-of-life-called-sigmoid/

Reference

Rose, F. (2002, March). The father of creative destruction. Wired.com archive, weblog entry. Retrieved from http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/10.03/schumpeter.html

3 thoughts on “Creative Destruction: A different twist on Schumpeter’s theory

  1. Dear Lord, you’re prolific when you’re on a roll. I thought I wrote a lot! 🙂 In all seriousness though, I’m enjoying your writing immensely. Every post makes me think, and that’s not a phrase I throw around lightly 🙂

    • Woo hoo! Just paying back and paying forward. I’ve always had the gift/curse/obsession of writing at hand to get me through tough times. Probably explains why I dig books so much. [I think I might need a 12 step program in that regard but it’s going to have to go to the bottom of the priority list.] As a professor and industry professional, the beauty of being able to write easily has been a blessing. It has made my life as a scholar far easier than most and I’m determined to harness that ability and leverage it [again] very soon. I am humbled by being in a position professionally and I guess personally to be able to put my thoughts “out there” and maybe randomly help someone in the way that I’ve been helped so many times.

  2. Pingback: raw | Dharma Goddess: The Journey to Me

I'd love to hear your thoughts - please join the discussion!

