The Great Blue Heron outside my door

Image

I woke up this morning later after being up until well after 3 a.m. Just hanging out, dancing, being me. (It felt good and I didn’t feel like I had to do what anybody else wanted.)

I opened up my balcony door and there was a ginormous great blue heron sitting on the peak of the roof of the apartment beside mine. It was *huge*. I snapped a couple of pictures and then it flew away. My inner monologue – like JD from Scrubs – imagined a wind tunnel in its wake but of course that was an amusing exaggeration.

I looked up the symbolism of the bird from the curiosity standpoint and found the following:

Keywords: Peace, Ability to Stand Alone, Uniqueness, Dignity, Call to Balance, Fluidity, Connection to the Blue Road, Independence, Boundaries, Self Esteem

More here: http://wolfsmoon.tripod.com/GreatBlueHeron.html

The experience was interesting to me and whether or not this massive bird was trying to deliver a message to me [I giggle a little here as my rational brain dominates] the associated keywords are salient reminders. It was interesting to look at the keywords and note that words like unique and independent are qualities that I consider to be descriptive of my individual personality outside of my marriage.

6 thoughts on “The Great Blue Heron outside my door

  1. Pingback: The rule of 3s and the Great Blue Heron | Dharma Goddess: The Journey to Me

  2. Pingback: Hey, there’s my Blue Heron! | Dharma Goddess: The Journey to Me

I'd love to hear your thoughts - please join the discussion!

