BPD: Borderline Personality Disorder

Image

(Photo: http://astronlife.wordpress.com/astron-articles/bordeline-personality-disorder/)

In trying to understand what might be going on with Greg I had to ask myself “why?” The answer is simple: I feel like if I know more about what’s going on with him that I can protect myself against his anger and reduce the likelihood that I will be caught in an explosive outburst. Moreover, I feel like I might be better equipped to deal with it instead of the usual deer-in-headlights non-response response.

I don’t know if Greg has a narcissistic personality (NP) or if it’s a case of borderline personality disorder (BPD). I found useful information in an article from Psychology Today here: http://www.psychologytoday.com/conditions/borderline-personality-disorder?tab=Symptoms

I’m going to try to shake this anxiety and not waste the rest of my day. I know it won’t be that easy but I don’t know what else to do.

13 thoughts on “BPD: Borderline Personality Disorder

  1. Please, whatever you do, don’t assume the worst. Not everyone with BPD is the way some sites portray us. I hope now that you’re reading my blog, you might realise that there is hope to work your way out of the condition. God, I sound so patronising, and I don’t mean to be. I guess all I’m saying is don’t be scared. He’s still a person, and he’s still your husband, and there is a wealth of help available – if he is open and honest enough to look himself in the eye and admit he needs help. Not all men can, sadly. I’ve followed you back, and will be reading with interest. Take care.

    • Indeed your blog *does* provide hope. I feel strongly that I am hardly in a position to “judge” someone else’s pathology when I’m busy with my own (humility here). I’m hoping that he will, in fact, look inside and that was part of my reason for needing to be out of the same space as him. We can’t fix our respective problems in tandem. I’ve accepted that. I don’t think he has though, but I could be surprised.

      Don’t apologize for what you write in any form. Honesty within and without are the best paths for all of us to get better.

      Thanks for the follow!

  2. Pingback: Me | The Broken Pages

  3. Does he ever show genuine remorse? Is he capable of empathy? These things don’t change. Understanding is helpful, but it doesn’t protect you from damage. It only makes the process subliminal.

    • Hmmmm…that is a very tough question to answer. True remorse…true empathy…the fact that I cannot say for sure is interesting. It could mean that he’s hidden his emotions from me from the beginning, which I know to be true, and also the fact that he openly admits he doesn’t know what he’s feeling most of the time. Thanks for the prompt to think about this…

      You’re right about understanding vs. protection. Protection is why I’m moving out. If/when he can develop these skills/awareness, assuming there’s no other pathology in the way, then maybe we can be productive. That’s for him to figure out with his therapist, who seems to think he’s fine BTW. [what?] It could be that he doesn’t share all that much about his therapy sessions too, which would be in line with most of his “stuff it down then explode” approach.

I'd love to hear your thoughts - please join the discussion!

