Serenity prayer: My revisions

Image

I came across this early today and thought that not only is the digital representation beautifully executed but the additional wording was thought-provoking and insightful. That notwithstanding, I would make a few revisions (with explanations).

My notion of God [higher power] is very broad. I was raised Catholic and never seemed to quite connect with the concept of an old man with a long white beard hanging out in some place way up in the sky called heaven. My concept was a loving God that understood the inherent dynamics of being human, including all of which we humans might label “good” or “bad”. Without getting into a discourse on the duality of man [dudes, we could be here for dayzzzzzzz] I believe that if we are made in God’s likeness then that includes the whole package. Rather than rejecting what some might define as “sin”, I believe that it comes down to accepting that we are human and that means accepting all of the dynamics that come with being human. If we are created in the image of the Divine then that means we are just as we should be: human. Therefore, there is nothing of us [as human] that is not of God. God is everything, everywhere, all of the time, and in every one. We are not separate from God; we are manifestations of God.

[NOTE: I am not saying we are God, as such. I am saying we – as humans – are here to struggle with and understand our imperfect natures so we can carry out our respective purposes in life.]

From my philosophical and spiritual position, the concept of “sin” seems to suggest guilt and punishment rather than acceptance and understanding. This doesn’t mean there is no such thing as actions and choices that are without harm to oneself or to others, but rather that yin and yang should inspire self-awareness and a desire to be the best one can be and learning from actions and choices that weren’t so awesome.

Now for the rewording:

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things that I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

Enjoying one moment at a time, accepting hardships as the pathway to peace, taking this world as it is, not as I would have it where others’ actions and choices are concerned. Trusting that things can be made right if I surrender all things to the Divine in me and to the Divine in the universe, that I may find happiness and peace with purpose in the gift that is my life.

I'd love to hear your thoughts - please join the discussion!

